Outstanding Teachers Recognized

Wednesday 18th, May 2011 / 08:07 Published by

Eighteen teachers, who, together have contributed over 600 years of service to the teaching profession were recognised for their sacrifice, commitment and endurance by the Primary Principal’s Association.

Governor-General Sir Arthur Foulkes presented the teachers with medals during a ceremony held in the ballroom of Government House on Tuesday, May 17. The theme was “Education: A Collaborative Initiative in Achieving Excellence”.

Malisha Lubin and Daniel Dennis, students of Carmichael Primary School gave a tribute in song. Deann Huyler, principal of Woodcock Primary School provided inspirational thoughts.

The honourees were: Valerie Munroe and Edith Jones of Carmichael Primary; Judy Deveaux-Moncur and Betty Bell of Garvin Tynes Primary, Sarah Newman, Thelma Gibson Primary; Agatha Meadows, C. H. Reeves Junior High; Susan Hall, Ridgeland Primary; Karen Simms, C. W. Sawyer Primary; Clifford Gaitor, Harbour Island All Age; Miriam Williamson and Virginia King of Sadie Curtis Primary; Edith McClain, Claridge Primary; Aluria Thompson, Governor’s Harbour Primary; Reveda Culmer, Sandilands Primary; Zella Sturrup, Supreme Court Library; Jacqueline Saunders, Uriah McPhee Primary and Joan Pinder, retired.

By Bahamas Information Services


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Bahamian Project

Like Us