Top Students Receive Scholarships To Study Abroad

Wednesday 22nd, August 2012 / 23:25 Published by

Minister Jerome Fitzgerald congratulates Theophilus Moss (BIS Photo/Letisha Henderson)

Nassau, Bahamas – The outstanding achievements of 20 students have earned them scholarships to attend institutions abroad thanks to a partnership between the Ministry of Education, Science and Technology, the Lyford Cay Foundation and the Central Bank of The Bahamas.

Education Minister Jerome Fitzgerald announced the recipients of the All Bahamas Merit Scholarship, Wednesday, describing them as “shining lights”.

“Each of these students did exceptionally well in school, while doing community service, engaging in extra-curricular activities, participating in intellectual discussion on national issues and doing their part to bring awareness of some cause.

“They are thinkers; they are dreamers, they can articulate their point of view succinctly. They have all of the characteristics of effective leaders.     They have done more in their sixteen /seventeen years on earth than most adults have done in a lifetime,” he said.

The 2012 All Bahamas Merit Scholarship recipient of $140,000 is Theophilus Eric Moss, a 2012 graduate of St. Augustine’s College. An aspiring engineer, he mentors at-risk boys in the Project Lead Programme and wants to inspire male students to strive for excellence.

Mr. Moss plans to build more cross-sea bridges to connect the Family Islands and to open a series of auto mechanic shops throughout The Bahamas that will factor recycling scrap metal from broken vehicles in repairs.

The recipients of the Merit Scholarship each receive $20,000. They are: Rikki Barry; Mica (pronounced Mesha) Cunningham; Sumarah Curry, Rena Mortimer, Crispin Hanna; Rasheed Robinson; Lauren Glinton; Ashley Fox; Keric Rolle; Bria Munnings and Samantha Chee-A-Tow; Rachel Cates and Chelsea Brown [a National Merit Scholarship recipient who will receive $10,000 award to attend the University of the West Indies where the Government already makes provisions for students.

The National Merit Scholars will receive $25,000. They are Daniel McKinney; Dimitri Duncombe;   Brandi Wheeler; Camille Anderson; Gabrielle Cabral and Shante Major.

Mr. Fitzgerald acknowledged the Lyford Cay Foundation for its financial contribution toward education. He thanked the parents and teachers for their role in moulding and guiding the students throughout their young lives.

“Their applications are indicative of young people who are mature beyond their years and who have tremendous focus.   Where they are today has a lot to do with their parents’ encouragement and support.   It is also evidence of the fact that parents play a pivotal role in their children’s success.”

Minister Fitzgerald said all is not lost despite the blaring headlines.   “The real story is that we have 20 individuals being awarded for their outstanding record of achievement.” He said the students are the epitome of the Ministry’s theme of “Fostering Competence, Character and Citizenship in the Pursuit of Excellence in Education”.

By Kathryn Campbell
Bahamas Information Services


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Bahamian Project

Like Us