Menu Close

Bear Trap Wins Billfish Tournament In Abaco

The Bahamas Billfish Championship (BBC) launched it’s 38th season with the Central Abaco Championship at Treasure Cay Resort & Marina. Despite two days of windy spring weather and challenging sea conditions, the fleet of thirty-five sport fishermen caught and released sixty-two billfish during the three- day event which was won by Bear Trap, a 66 Spencer based out of Chattanooga, Tennessee.

The Bear Trap team, led by owner John Stout and Captain Greg Eklund, racked up 2,800 points by catching and releasing two blue marlin, three white marlin, and two sailfish over the three days.  The point total was enhanced with an additional 700 Grand Slam bonus points for the blue marlin, white marlin and sailfish releases on the second day of the tournament.

The win garnered Stout a Randy Rich designed trophy presented by tournament sponsors Gulfstream International Airlines and Hatteras Yachts. As the Top Release Team for the Central Abaco Championship, team Bear Trap was presented with a custom hand-carved mahogany trophy sponsored by Murray Products and the Al Behrendt Marine Group. Capt. Greg Eklund and the Bear Trap crew each received a Randy Rich designed trophy sponsored by Steve Lewis of the Lewis Marine Group.

Second Place honors at the Central Abaco tournament went to team Zues, a 58 Custom yacht based out of Ft. Pierce, Florida. After sharing the lead with John Lee’s Committed from Destin, Florida for two days, Team leader Tim Lanahan and Capt. Glenn Cameron accumulated 2300 points by releasing two blue marlin, four white marlin, and two sailfish.  Team Zues was also awarded a Randy Rich trophy from Gulfstream International Airlines and Hatteras Yachts.

Junior Davis’ Wave Paver, a 61 Garlington from Kissimmee, Florida finished in Third Place also with 2300 points. Team Wave Paver  with Capt. ‘Snick’ Akers caught and released one blue marlin, three white marlin, and three sailfish during the tournament. Like Bear Trap, the Wave Paver received an additional 700 Grand Slam bonus points.  In BBC competition, when two teams achieve the same point total, the winner is determined by the team first reaching the point total.

In addition to the Randy Rich trophies, the three winning teams also received gift certificates from Roffer’s Ocean Fishing Forecasting Service (ROFFS) and Anejo Rum from Bacardi and Bristol Wine & Spirits.

For the BBC’s first tournament of the 2011 season, the Central Abaco Championship was action packed for the majority of the thirty-five boats fishing. Of the 62 billfish caught and released, 17 were blue marlin, 27 were white marlin and 18 were sailfish. As with all BBC tournaments, all catches are validated using time and date stamped digital images. Affidavits signed by all participants fishing on each team further confirms that the fish was released in accordance with IGFA and Bahamas Billfish Championship rules. Gulfstream International Airlines and Hatteras Yachts were the hosting sponsors of the Central Abaco Championship. Social functions during the tournament were hosted by MarineMax Yachts & Brokerage and CAT Marine Power. The new 63 Hatteras GT made its tournament debut and MarineMax used the tournament to showcase the new 54 Hatteras GT.

Now celebrating its 38 th season, the BBC is the oldest billfish tournament series in the world. Anglers can fish any or all of the tournaments with cumulative points determining the overall Bahamas Billfish Champions. In an effort to give-back to the Bahamian people, the Bahamas Billfish Championship endowed two scholarships that enable Bahamian students the opportunity to pursue a degree in marine biology or advanced education in the marine technologies.

For the very latest tournament information, results and overall standings visit our fact-filled Internet website at or contact the Bahamas Billfish Championship at 866-920-5577.

Posted in Sports

Related Posts