Menu Close

Honouring The Best In Bahamas Journalism

Honouring The Best In Journalism
Honouring The Best In Journalism
Photo: Shawn Hanna/Tribune Staff

THE BAHAMAS Press Club will hold its annual awards banquet on Saturday, November 18, honouring the best in Bahamian journalism.

The banquet is held under the patronage of Governor General Dame Marguerite Pindling and Prime Minister Dr Hubert Minnis will be the keynote speaker.

At a press conference yesterday, Bahamas Press Club President Anthony Capron said this year’s event will give local journalists a “pat on the back” for a job well done.

This year, three new categories have been added to the competition: University of The Bahamas Journalism Award (for UB students), The Press Club Person of the Year Award (to be chosen by The Press Club), and the PAHO-WHO Excellence in Health Promotion Award, sponsored by the Pan-American Health Organisation/World Health Organisation.

In 2015, the Bahamas Press Club honoured Tribune Editor and Publisher Eileen Dupuch Carron. Last year, the club’s Lifetime Achievement Award went to veteran broadcaster Calsey Johnson, the recent Bahamas high commissioner to Canada.

Judges include Hadassah Hall, Judy Terrell, Quincy Parker, Duke Wells, Ray Munnings, and Dr Esther de Gourville, PAHO-WHO country rep for The Bahamas and Turks and Caicos Islands.

The event will be held in the Windsor Rood of the Hilton. It is sponsored by Aliv and Bahamas Power and Light.

Posted in Events, Local News

Related Posts