Free Movement Between Six Caribbean Nations

Castries, St Lucia — Monday, August 1, 2011 heralded the commencement of full freedom of movement of Organisation of Easter Caribbean States (OECS) citizens throughout the six independent countries of the organisation.

Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada, St Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia and St Vincent and the Grenadines agreed that, from that date, they would permit OECS citizens to enter their territories and remain for an indefinite period in order to work, establish businesses, provide services or reside.

Free movement of OECS citizens is one of the fundamental aspects of the Revised Treaty of Basseterre establishing the OECS Economic Union, which entered into force on January 21, 2011. On that date the OECS Authority of Heads of Government agreed that August 1, 2011 would be the implementation date for the regime for the complete free movement of citizens of participating member states.

NOTE: The Bahamas opted out of this arrangement.